top of page

What has defined Lisa Field

Have you ever noticed how things always seem to go some people’s way? Even if they hit a bump in the road, they do not seem to notice and remain on track. People looking at my world from the outside may say the same. However, I have had more than enough bumps in the road but I’ve taught myself to create my world as I want it to be.


My career and life undertook a significant transformation just over seven years ago when I made a conscious decision to define what it was I wanted, I painted a very clear picture in my mind of how my life would look, and then talked the talk and walked the walk. Sounds simple, but working in highly competitive industry, many challenges were thrown my way, testing my resolve to apply that theory. Today, although I am still encountering many challenges, as we all do, I have the insight to accept what happens around me and stay true to myself.


My early years were filled with ballet, gymnastics, jazz, tap dancing just like most other little girls but by the age of 11, I was a member of the Australian Institute of Sport for Rhythmic Gymnastics. I trained 5 hours each day after school, 7 hours on Saturday and 9 hours on Sunday. We were weighed before training and after training and were removed from training if we were overweight. At the age of 11 I was put on a lettuce and air diet for a week. Seems crazy when I look back now, even more so now that I have my own daughter, but this is where I learnt discipline, goal setting and motivation. I quite simply wanted to be the best in the world and worked hard to try to achieve it. Sadly an injury finished this journey for me.


At 16 I left school to manage my own snack bar. For me the path of traditional education wasn’t inspiring! I tripled the takings in a matter of months and quickly learnt that the best way to succeed was to think outside the square and take risks – how can I be different from the hundreds of other snack bars around? I still apply that theory in my professional life today. Thinking outside the square breaks down barriers in your mind that limit your thinking.


Life was great for 2 years until interest rates skyrocketed to over 18%. I had a mortgage at the time and had to find a ‘real’ job. So there I was, 18 with little school education and no job. I found a job painting fry pans in a factory. My job was to pick up a fry pan, wipe the dust off it with my white cotton gloves and then I watched it get painted. The man next to me was responsible for taking the painted fry pan off the conveyor belt and placing it in the oven to set. I did this day in and day out...... I remember turning to the man next to me one day and asking “doesn’t this job ever get boring”? He looked me dead in the eye and with all seriousness said “no way, we change colours!” On reflection this was probably the greatest lesson to learn. I understood that it takes all kinds. Some people are happy and fulfilled by working in a factory. I learnt humility. From that day on I have treated the person who cleans the toilets with the same respect as the CEO.


I moved to Sydney aged 21 to take on the world. Adelaide was way too small for me; I wanted to be where the action was! Whilst living in Sydney I became a participant in the Miss Australia Awards. Raising $83,000 for children with Cerebral Palsy and winning Miss NSW Fundraiser. I worked hard to gain support from some of Sydney’s largest organisations once again using the concept of thinking outside the square. I decided at one point that I wanted Renee Rivkin to support me. I trotted off into his offices in Double Bay and the receptionist would not allow me to see him or book an appointment. Not wanting to take no for an answer, I researched his favorite cigar ($25 I paid for it mind you!) and put together a proposal and went back to his office and sat in his reception until he agreed to meet me. He did meet me...... eventually but did not support me. I learnt the art of begging for forgiveness and not asking for permission. This is another trait that I keep front of mind today. With good intent; make the decision and apologize if it is wrong rather than ask for permission of those who shut you down!


An overseas holiday changed my life dramatically. I remember riding a horse in Bali, ocean on the left and rice paddocks on the right when I suddenly had this over whelming wish to have children. I met a man, we had two beautiful children together, Zachary and Jamieson. Quite simply for me every decision that I make in life is to give them the best life that I can.


12 years ago I moved back to Adelaide to be with my family and joined a company that was part of a larger organisation, spanning 70 countries around the world. That company just happened to be Leadership Management Australia which is a company that I now own! Back then I sold leadership development programs to senior executives. I ended up winning a World Sales Award as a result of selling more training programs in Adelaide than any other country in the world. I was so proud of Adelaide; to me that award was ALL about the commitment that Adelaide organisations have to developing their staff. For me my formula of success was simple – every time I spoke to a customer I was conscious that it was an opportunity to raise my professional credibility. This ensured that I was consistent in my service and deliverables.


I then joined a women executive program and and then gained a job with a global organisation and started to smash the glass ceiling. This is where I really started to indentify that the qualities in myself that I took for granted are actually quite rare. I had a Ball and lived and breathed for Vodafone. When you are in a job that you love, in an environment that you love and with people that you love I think it is almost impossible to not be successful. The challenge came for me when I was overlooked for a promotion. I was devastated. This bump in the road once again taught me lessons I could never have imagined. I stayed at Vodafone for about 5 months afterwards to try and find peace with their decision. I really, really tried to overcome my devastation; but you know what. I couldn’t and at the end of the day; staying was not in line with me being true to myself.


I was fortunate to then join Optus as the State Sales Manager for Mobiles across SA and WA and held this position for a year and a half. I was then promoted to State Manager of Business Channels. I joined Optus with the success, energy and life of someone who wanted to help awaken the sleeping giant that Optus is.

Truth was, I entered a company with a very established culture, a lot of strong personalities and with multidimensional dynamics. My professional life was flipped around; I was now working with a company where more sat within my circle of influence than my circle of control. It was challenging yet rewarding to find space for me and my teams. I had to consciously reapply all my learnings to date to stay focused.



Through my journey, I began to realize that my heart and sole is in helping people being the best that they can be. Fortunately for me, an opportunity arose to join in partnership with Xceptional People which now allows me to work with individuals who inspire me on a daily basis








Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page